Government reshuffle – new Charity Tax Minister confirmed

Following a Government reshuffle, the Prime Minister has confirmed his ministerial appointments, which include a new Treasury Minister responsible for charity taxation. You can track all the appointments here.

Rishi Sunak, formerly Chief Secretary to the Treasury, is now Chancellor of the Exchequer, following Sajid Javid’s resignation. CTG recently wrote to the Chancellor enclosing its Budget submission.

Kemi Badenoch has been appointed as Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury, replacing Simon Clarke. The Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury’s responsibilities include charities and Gift Aid, and CTG will be looking to meet her soon. Jesse Norman has been reappointed as Financial Secretary to the Treasury and he has responsibility for VAT and Finance Bills within his portfolio.

Elsewhere, former Cabinet Office Minister, Oliver Dowden, has been appointed Secretary of State at the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport, replacing Baroness (Nicky) Morgan of Cotes. Dowden has overall responsibility for strategy and policy across the department, whose remit also includes the Office for Civil Society. Baroness (Diana) Barran retains her role as Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Civil Society and Loneliness, at DCMS.