Government reshuffle – new Charity Tax Minister and Minister for Civil Society confirmed

Boris Johnson has been appointed as the new Prime Minister. He has now confirmed his ministerial appointments which include a new Charity Tax Minister and Minister for Civil Society. You can track all the appointments here.

Robert Jenrick, formerly Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury [XST] (and minister with responsibility for charity taxation), is now the Secretary of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government, a role that will have overall policy responsibility for business rates in England.

Simon Clarke has been confirmed as his successor as XST – his full list of responsibilities, including charities, the voluntary sector and gift aid can be read here. He is the Conservative MP for Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland and was first appointed in June 2017. He trained as a lawyer and also worked in number of roles in Parliament before his election.

Simon Clarke is the 9th Minister with responsibility for charity taxation since the Coalition Government was formed in May 2010, following in the footsteps of Justine Greening, Chloe Smith, Sajid Javid, Nicky Morgan, Priti Patel, Damien Hinds, Jane Ellison, as well as Robert Jenrick.

Sajid Javid has been appointed as Chancellor. During his time as Economic Secretary to the Treasury he addressed the CTG Tax Conference in 2013 and provided the foreword to the second edition of the Charity Tax Map – see more here.

The Prime Minister has appointed Baroness (Diana) Barran MBE as Minister for Civil Society, replacing Mims Davies. Her new role covers civil society, youth and social action, the Government’s inclusive economy unit, loneliness, DCMS business in the House of Lords and First World War ceremonials. She will report to Nicky Morgan, the new Culture Secretary, who also addressed the CTG Tax Conference (in 2014).

Jesse Norman has been retained as Financial Secretary to the Treasury. This role includes strategic oversight of the UK tax system including direct, indirect, business, property and personal taxation, corporate and small business taxation, Value Added Tax (VAT), and the role of Departmental Minister for HM Revenue and Customs and the Valuation Office Agency.